All Categories


Seven Chakra or Spiritual centers

For information purposes, brief descriptions the seven main chakras are included here. Some of the comments here provide hints on practices to be covered further on:

1. Muladhara – Means, “root or foundation.” The first chakra, located at the perineum, where kundalini energy is first awakened.

2. Svadisthana – Means, “dwelling place.” The second chakra, located in the area of the internal reproductive organs. It is the dwelling place of the great storehouse of pranic energy, the sexual vitality. Once activated, vast energy flows up from there and spiritually illuminates the entire nervous system.

3. Manipura – Meaning, “city of gems.” The third chakra, located in the navel/solar plexus area, is associated with digestion, including the higher metabolism that produces enlightenment-promoting organic compounds in the GI (gastrointestinal) tract that radiate sparkling energy. Hence the reference to gems.

4. Anahata – Means, “unstruck sound.” The fourth chakra, located in the heart area. This is where the yoga practitioner first experiences the vastness of inner space, which is often filled with celestial (unstruck) sounds and other inner sensory experiences.

5. Vishuddhi – Means, “purity.” The fifth chakra, located at the throat. This is a gateway for pranic energy to rise into the head. It is also a key center for speech and communications. With daily yoga practices, purification and opening occur naturally in the throat, and the internal and external expressions of energy through this chakra open up simultaneously.

6. Ajna – Means, “command.” The sixth chakra, also known as the third eye. It encompasses the neuro-biology from the center of the brow to the center of the head, and the medulla oblongata (brain stem). The ajna is the command center controlling the ecstatic aspect of the enlightenment process, which is progressive and safe awakening of kundalini.

7. Sahasrar – Means, “thousand-petaled lotus.” The seventh chakra, located at the crown of the head (corona radiata). Awakening and entering it leads to the merging of individual consciousness with infinite divine consciousness. Awakening the sahasrar prematurely can lead to many troubles in a nervous system that has not been sufficiently purified beforehand. Awakening the ajna (third eye) first prepares the entire nervous system, while at the same time indirectly opening the sahasrar in a way that is compatible with a rate of overall purification the practitioner can comfortably regulate and sustain – progressive, yet safe.

About the Spiritual Author

Tarun Choudhury

Kriya Yoga Technique


No comments yet! Be the first:

Your Response

Most Viewed - All Categories